Saint Mary Catholic Church in Americus, Georgia began in 1891. A "circuit rider" priest from Saint Teresa Catholic Church in Albany, Georgia found welcome in the home of the Sherlock Family, whose living room was the small community's worship center until the first church (a wooden domed structure) was built, designed by G.L. Norrman. In 1961, the original wooden church building was razed, and replaced with an A-frame brick church building with a small parish hall attached. A larger fellowship hall, Sherlock Hall, was built and opened in February 2003. It was named in honor of the family whose faith and generosity opened the door to this faith community's birth and growth.


Saint Mary's was a mission parish of Saint Teresa's in Albany until 1942, when it became a parish, and was under the care of the brown robed Franciscan priests, who served here until 1992. Today, Diocesan priests help to tend the flock and facilitate growth in the spiritual life of Catholics in Americus.


St. Mary Catholic Church serves a diverse congregation and hosts faith formation programs for parishioners, as well as those seeking to learn more about the Catholic faith.

(1962-present)

(1891-1961)